Who’s on Shelby’s iPod?

Posted: February 7, 2012 by Laura Richards in Who's on whose iPod?

When it comes to good music, Shelby Wright knows all. As a sophomore, she not only enjoys journalism and creative writing, but she also has a love for writing and playing her own music. As one of my closest friends, I have seen firsthand how much she loves music. Also,  I have heard her sing and play her guitar…girl’s got skills. So here in an inside look on what is playing on Shelby’s iPod!

  1. “Somewhere With You”–Kenny Chesney

“I’m not a huge country fan, but I cannot stop listening to this song!  I just love the lyrics and can completely relate to always wanting to be somewhere with a certain somebody.”

2.  “I Go Blind”–Hootie and the Blowfish

“Dustin’ off the oldies.  I love Hootie and the Blowfish (I think it’s directly correlated to my obsession with Friends) and this song is just such a classic.”

3. “Gonna Get Over You”–Sara Bareilles

“This song, for being about trying to get over someone, has just a catchy upbeat rhythm to it.  Sara is one of my go-to gals for great music, and she never disappoints.  Her lyrics are some of my favorites, and man can she sing.”

4. “Lay Me Down”–Dirty Heads

“Even though we’re still in this moody, hormonal weather pattern fluctuating between semi-warm and semi-frigid, this song make me think of happier days, sitting on the beach in the warm, glorious sun.”

5. “Everlasting Light”–The Black Keys

“The Black Keys are officially an obsession.  This song is just so addicting in so many ways; his voice, the music, the beat, the lyrics…I love everything about it!”

6. “Somebody That I Used To Know”–Gotye

“It actually had to YouTube how to pronounce this name, but I FINALLY can.  This song is just wonderful on so many levels and truly heart-wrenching.  If you want to see something that makes you feel completely incompetent, watch Walk Off The Earth’s cover of this song on YouTube…mind-blowing!”

7. “Calamity Song”–The Decemberists

“This is my ultimate driving with the windows down, rocking out song.  I love everything that the Decemberists do, and this song is just so catchy and you have to sing along while listening to it.”

8. “You Make My Dreams Come True”–Hall & Oates

“Another oldie-but-goody.  This song is the kind that one would listen to while dancing around in her (or his) underwear whilst getting ready in the morning, using a hairbrush as a microphone…hypothetically.”

9. “Pretty the World”–Matt Nathanson

“Matt, Matt, Matt.  Is there anything more charming in this world than Matt Nathanson?  I don’t think so.  I’ve been completely smitten with him for almost a decade now, and since meeting him in person, my obsession has only grown.  This is an older of his song, but really encapsulates his musical style and lyric ability.  I love singing along to this song.”

10.  “Did It On ‘Em”–Nicki Minaj

“This song is a classic in my book for SO many reasons.  A few girls and I have dubbed this our “theme song,” and when it comes to fierce, woman anthems, Nicki is and ALWAYS will be our girl.”

 

Comments
  1. Shelby says:

    Laura, you’re the best.

Leave a Reply

